View comparison result

After you have compared the data sources, Schema Compare displays the comparison results in the upper part of the Results window. There you can select objects for synchronization.

Results window

If you need to compare the data sources again using the same project settings, and update the comparison results, click Refresh button Refresh or press F5.

In case you need to change the settings, click Edit Comparison button Edit Comparison.

By default, the results are grouped for display by status. For convenience when working with the results of the comparison, you can use other options for grouping the results:

Group the comparison results

The Owner column displays the owner (or schema) of the object.

If you want to check the tables that were automatically mapped, you can click the Edit Comparison button and switch to the Table Mapping tab.

Select objects for synchronization

The number of objects that will be deployed is shown above the table with the results.

Objects to be deployed

By default, all objects are selected.

If you don’t want to deploy an object, click to deselect a check-off box next to it.

If you want to change the operation with the object, click the cell of this product in the Operation column and select the required operation from the drop-down list.

Select operation

Find objects

If you want to locate an object, type the search text in the Search box.

Search results

To clear the Search box, click the cross button next to it.

Note

The search is not case-sensitive.

Save the comparison and synchronization options

Schema Compare for SQL Server allows saving comparison and synchronization options for further use, for example for automating and/or scheduling database comparison and synchronization tasks. The settings are saved as a .scomp file.

The asterix near the .scomp file name means that the project has not yet been saved.

Search options

To save the comparison settings, in the comparison results document, click the Save icon or press Ctrl+S.

Note

If you save the .scomp file before configuring the synchronization settings, it will contain the custom comparison settings but the default synchronization settings.

To save the custom synchronization settings, you need to call the Schema Synchronization wizard by clicking Synchronize on the toolbar, or clicking the green arrow button, or pressing F8. Then make all the necessary settings and close the wizard. Now if you save the project, it will contain both custom comparison and synchronization settings.