Using Project Build Configurations

Build configurations can be used for storing multiple versions of the project properties and multiple project connections. You can have several configurations - each one with its own options. For example, you can use one configuration for deploying database to the test sever and another one for deploying to the production server.

You can choose active configuration from the Configuration drop-down list on the Project toolbar. Each new project has one configuration named Default.

Configurations can be created, renamed, and deleted using the Configuration Manager.

Adding a Configuration

  1. Open Configuration Manager by selecting Configuration Manager from the Configuration drop-down list on the Project toolbar.
  2. Click the Add button. A New Project Configuration dialog will appear.
  3. Enter the Name of the configuration and select a configuration to copy settings from if you need it.
  4. Click OK.

Removing a Configuration

  1. Open Configuration Manager by selecting Configuration Manager from the Configuration drop-down list on the Project toolbar.
  2. Select the configuration you want to remove and click Remove.

Renaming a Configuration

  1. Open Configuration Manager by selecting Configuration Manager from the Configuration drop-down list on the Project toolbar.
  2. Select the required configuration in Configuration Manager and click the Rename button or press the F2 key.
  3. Type the new name.
  4. Press ENTER.

Changing Options for a Configuration

  1. Open project options.
  2. Select the configuration from the Configuration drop-down list in the upper part of the document.
  3. Edit options. They will be applied for the selected configuration only. The same is about the project connection.

*Note**

To edit project options for the specific configuration, you should select it in the Configuration drop-down list on the project properties document, not on the Project toolbar.