Understanding the synchronization

The information that may help you understand the behavior of the synchronization script will be provided in this section.

Column order

Column order option is selected by default. It means that adding a column to a table will cause its re-build. As a result, a column order will be preserved during synchronization. If you want to ignore the difference in columns orders, uncheck this option when configuring a New Schema Comparison project.

Database diagrams

Schema Compare doesn’t allow compare or synchronize database diagrams.

System objects

Schema Compare doesn’t allow compare or synchronize system objects, except for users, roles, and system schemas.

Users

With Schema Compare you can compare and synchronize changes to users, such as changes to permissions. However, Schema Compare doesn’t compare or synchronize modifications to user passwords.

Filegroups

The Schema Compare tool doesn’t synchronize filegroups, partition schemes, and partition functions. However, it synchronizes the corresponding properties of tables, indexes, primary keys, and unique constraints.

Encrypted database objects

You can decrypt text objects databases created using the Decrypt encrypted objects option.

When this option is enabled, the Schema Compare tool decrypts bodies of encrypted objects for comparison and synchronization. If you compare encrypted objects in databases with large amounts of data, selecting this option may slightly slow down the comparison.

To disable this option, on the Options tab of the New Schema Comparison Wizard, unselect the Decrypt encrypted objects checkbox.

CLR datatypes

To ignore CLR datatypes during comparison and synchronization on the Options tab of the New Schema Comparison Wizard, select the Ignore CLR datatypes checkbox. Columns’ CLR datatypes in the target tables will be preserved if possible.

Database extended properties

Database extended properties that differ are not displayed in the comparison results but can be deployed. By default, the option Ignore database extended properties is enabled. The extended properties will be preserved after synchronization if a database referring to these extended properties is rebuilt.

If you want to disable the option, on the Options tab of the New Schema Comparison Wizard, clear the Ignore database extended properties checkbox.