Synchronizing Databases

Note

Data synchronization can not be rolled back! It may change or delete data in your target database. It is highly recommended to backup target database
before synchronizing data.

To start synchronizing data of two databases:

  1. Select the data to synchronize. To do this, select check boxes in the column with check boxes for the tables (or views) you want to synchronize. You may also click a separate table and select check boxes in the column with check boxes on the Only in source, Only in target, and Different tabs for individual records to determine which records to synchronize. Use the check box in the header of the grid to apply settings to all the grid rows.

    Data comparison document

Note

Incorrectly mapped objects are displayed with Caution icon instead of check box in the Data Comparison document. Objects with no data to synchronize (with only identical records or with no records at all) are displayed without check boxes. You cannot select them for synchronization.

  1. On the Comparison toolbar, click Synchronize. The Data Synchronization wizard will be opened.

    Data synchronization wizard

  2. Select whether to backup target database and backup files location. Then select whether to execute a script as a single transaction. You may click Synchronize and skip next steps to open the synchronization script in the editor, but this is not recommended if the script is too large. Click Next.

  3. Select where to output synchronization script: open in the editor, save for the future execution, or immediately execute it.

  4. You may either click Synchronize to generate the update script, or click Next to set synchronization options and view the synchronization action plan and synchronization warnings if any exist, and then click Synchronize.